Inside Out Eclipse • New Moon 2-15-18

DragonParis copy.jpg

New Moon at 27 Aquarius 08
February 15, 2018, 4:05pm EST, 1:05pm PST, 9:05pm GMT,
February 16, 8:05am AEDT
Image: Dragon made from recycled tin cans, at Jardin des Plantes, a park in Paris. Photo by author, 2005.

"...dive into your increasing depths where life calmly gives out its own secret"  —R.M.Rilke

This New Moon is a partial solar eclipse. The Eclipse Dragon only bites off about half the Sun, clearly not as dramatic as last summer's, and likely more relaxing. Still, it is a Dragon! This one is visible in southern South America and Antarctica (what is going on there?). 

Eclipses are indicated by the Nodes of the Moon, also called the Dragon's Head and Tail. Soulful poet Rilke suggested, "Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, something helpless that want our love."

Even such a partial eclipse shifts the narrative as we head into another lunar month, with a shift in the regular rhythm. This is a Dragon Tail eclipse, aligning with the South Node of the Moon, evoking history, clearing the decks, making way for new insights that lead you forward. This is a continuing change in the social dynamic, personally and globally. Surely there is a lot going on! Don't fall into fear-mongering. Keep your heart strong and courageous. Our energetic, heart-connected "vote" impacts the collective consciousness. On the whole, this is likely to be a much more relaxing eclipse, where we express much that we have integrated and release to make room. Breathe and make space around you in the many ways that you can.

This New Moon in late Aquarius is the inside-out, opposite one from the one big one in late Leo last August. Read More...